Posted on August 22, 2013


Benson TWINE 99Seven James Bond films have been published as novelizations. They differ from the Ian Fleming novels as they are based on the movie scripts rather than Fleming’s original Bond stories.
Starting in 1977 with script writer Christopher Wood’s novelization of “The Spy who loved me” and ending with the 2002 Raymond Benson’s novelization of “Die Another Day“, there was a gap in the early eighties. However, the Bond movies that weren’t made into novelizations were actually made into comic books. The only Bond movie made into both a novel and a comic book between 1977 and 2002 is “Licence to Kill

This is the full list of the James Bond novelizations:

1977 Christopher Wood “James Bond, the Spy who loved me
1979 Christopher Wood “James Bond and Moonraker”
1989 John Gardner “Licence to Kill
1995 John Gardner “GoldenEye”
1997 Raymond Benson “Tomorrow never dies
1999 Raymond Benson “The World is not enough
2002 Raymond Benson “Die Another Day

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When “Casino Royale” was released in 2006 the Ian Flemin debut novel was re-released with a new cover in some countries. Yet, no novelizations have been made on the Daniel Craig Bond films.

Check back for the list on the comic books 1981-1989!